How and What Data Can Be Restored in DTU Learn
This guide explains which items can be restored directly in DTU Learn by course administrators and teachers, and which deleted items require assistance from the system supplier, D2L.
01 What can be restored in DTU Learn
Course items that can be restored within DTU Learn by administrators or teachers with the necessary permissions, at any time:
- Restore deleted discussions
- Restored deleted assignments
- Restored deleted submission
- Restore a deleted grade item
- Restore a deleted announcement
- Restore a deleted Org Unit
- Restore deleted intelligent agents
- Restore deleted quizzes
02 What can be restored by D2L
Note: In most cases, it is faster and easier to recreate the item yourself, as the restoration process can take time.
Some course items cannot be restored directly within DTU Learn. As the last resort, DTU must submit a support request to D2L.
D2L can restore the items listed below for up to 30 days after deletion. When submitting a request through the DTU Service Portal, please include the object type and all relevant information required for the restoration.
Below are the object types with their required information:
- Assignments – Overwritten Submissions: Assignment name, User impacted, and when the submission was made are required. Note: This can only be done for assignment submissions that are overwritten when the ‘Only the most recent submission is kept’ is enabled on the assignment.
- Attendance: Register name, session names, and exact date and time where the register was last known to exist is required.
- Checklist: The checklist that was deleted and the course it was deleted from are required.
- Content Modules/Topics: Exact Module/Topic name(s) are required. Note: This applies to deleted items only since we cannot revert to a specific date/time.
- Content (Manage) Files: File names and point in time when the files existed are required.
- Emails: Folder name and username are required.
- Group Assignments: The course the group was in, the name of the group that, when deleting it, caused the group assignments to become hidden, and when the group was deleted.
- Learning Objects: LORdentId is required (can be found in the content quick link).
- Self-Assessments/Surveys: Object name, Course OrgUnitId, and if there were User attempts are required. If a quiz/survey is restored, any attempts associated will be restored automatically.
- Quiz Questions: The Course OrgUnitId, the name of the rubric, and the date it was deleted are required. Note: Rubrics in use are unable to be deleted. This will only impact rubrics that have not yet been used.